Home›What transcription costs per hour, compared (4 October 2026)

What transcription costs per hour, compared

14 services and WhipScribe, priced for 10 and 100 hours of recordings, every figure from the company's own page on 4 October 2026.

The short answer

As of 4 October 2026, WhipScribe's $24 pack (5,000 minutes) works out to $0.29 per hour of audio, lower than any no-subscription price published by the 14 other consumer transcription services we checked (the lowest of those was Sonix at $10 per hour). Some subscriptions cost less than our packs at volume: for 100 hours in one month on monthly billing, TurboScribe ($20), Notta ($27.99) and Otter.ai ($30) cost less than our $32 in packs, and our $19 Workspace month costs less than all of them.

Scope: AI transcription of recorded files, one user, prices read on each company's own page on 4 October 2026. Free tools and a developer API are listed separately below. Quote with the date.

Every service, side by side

The cheapest paid option for 10 hours and for 100 hours of recordings in one month, the price without any subscription, whether unused minutes run out, and the longest file each accepts. Sorted by the 10-hour price.

Service10 hours, cheapest100 hours, cheapestNo subscriptionAllowance expires?Longest fileAI or humanSource
WhipScribe$8 · $0.80/h
$8 (1,000 min), one-time
$19 · $0.19/h
Workspace, one month; packs: $32 · $0.32/h
$0.29/h (best pack)No, credits never expire10 h / 5 GBAIwhipscribe.com/pricing
facts 2026-10-04
Notta$13.49 · $1.35/h
Pro monthly; files up to 5 h
$27.99 · $0.28/h
Business monthly, 1 seat; 200 uploads/month; files up to 5 h
none offeredYes: no carryover5 h (3 h with speaker recognition); audio 1 GBAIwww.notta.ai · support.notta.ai
checked 2026-10-04
Otter.ai$16.99 · $1.70/h
Pro monthly; at most 10 files, none over 90 min
$30 · $0.30/h
Business monthly, exactly 100 h of imports, no file over 4 h; $0.24/h at the 3-month $24 promo
none offeredYes: monthly minutes reset90 min (Pro), 4 h (Business)AIotter.ai
checked 2026-10-04
Fireflies.ai$18 · $1.80/h
Pro monthly; files up to 150 min
$48 · $0.48/h
Pro monthly + 3,000 min overage at $0.01; files up to 150 min
none offeredYes: no rollover150 minAIfireflies.ai · guide.fireflies.ai
checked 2026-10-04
TurboScribe$20 · $2.00/h
Unlimited monthly; files up to 10 h / 5 GB
$20 · $0.20/h
Unlimited monthly; no published cap (designed for at least 720 h/month)
none offeredNo allowance (unlimited)10 h / 5 GB (paid); 30 min (free)AIturboscribe.ai · turboscribe.ai
checked 2026-10-04
Descript$24 · $2.40/h
Hobbyist monthly
$265 · $2.65/h
Creator monthly + 70 h of top-ups
none offered (top-ups need a Creator or Business plan)Plan hours: not stated; top-ups after 12 monthsLength not stated; 10–50 GB by planAIwww.descript.com · help.descript.com
checked 2026-10-04
Happy Scribe$29 · $2.90/h
Pro monthly
$89 · $0.89/h
Business monthly
unknownPlan minutes reset monthly; top-ups never expire90 min (Basic); no length limit (Pro, Business)AI; human also soldwww.happyscribe.com
checked 2026-10-04
Rev$29.99 · $3.00/h
Essentials monthly
$59.99 · $0.60/h
Pro monthly
$15.00/hNot statedNot statedAI; human also soldwww.rev.com · www.rev.com
checked 2026-10-04
Riverside$35 · $3.50/h
Pro monthly (free tool also claims unlimited)
$35 · $0.35/h
Pro monthly
none offered (paid); free tool existsNot applicableNot statedAIriverside.com · riverside.com
checked 2026-10-04
GoTranscript (AI)$35 · $3.50/h
AI subscription one month
unknown (between $60 and $120 if the subscription rate applies)
page states two different subscription rates
$12.00/hNot statedNot statedAI; human also soldgotranscript.com · gotranscript.com
checked 2026-10-04
Sonix$50 · $5.00/h
Advanced monthly
$680 · $6.80/h
Pro monthly + 60 h at $10
$10.00/hNot stated8 h unless enabled for longer; 16 GBAIsonix.ai · help.sonix.ai
checked 2026-10-04
Maestra$99 · $9.90/h
Premium monthly
$1,200 · $12.00/h
Pay As You Go
$12.00/hNot statedNot statedAImaestra.ai · maestra.ai
checked 2026-10-04
Trint$100 · $10.00/h
Pro monthly
$100 · $1.00/h
Pro monthly, only if inside the unpublished fair-use cap (bulk/known-volume projects excluded)
none offeredNo allowance (unlimited, fair use)Not statedAIapp.trint.com
checked 2026-10-04
VEED$147 · $14.70/h
Creator annual (monthly price unreadable)
not possible in one month
50 h/month fair use
none offeredYes: minutes do not roll overNot statedAIwww.veed.io · www.veed.io
checked 2026-10-04
Temi$150 · $15.00/h
$0.25/min
$1,500 · $15.00/h
$0.25/min
$15.00/hNot stated2 GB; length not statedAIhelp.temi.com · www.temi.com
checked 2026-10-04
AssemblyAI (developer API)$1.50 · $0.15/h
Universal-2 list price
$15 · $0.15/h
Universal-2 list price
$0.15/hNot applicable (billed in arrears)Not checkedAIwww.assemblyai.com
checked 2026-10-04

"Not stated" means the company's pricing page did not say; we did not guess. AssemblyAI is a developer API (code, no app) and is shown for reference, not ranked.

WhipScribe packs, per hour

One-time packs, no subscription, minutes never expire. Bigger packs cost less per hour.

PackMinutesHoursPrice per hour
$4500 minutes8.33 h$4 ÷ 8.33 h = $0.48/h
$81,000 minutes16.67 h$8 ÷ 16.67 h = $0.48/h
$122,000 minutes33.33 h$12 ÷ 33.33 h = $0.36/h
$245,000 minutes83.33 h$24 ÷ 83.33 h = $0.29/h

Workspace is the monthly option: $19 a month, fair use up to 700 hours. One file can be up to 10 hours or 5 GB; transcripts export as TXT, DOCX, SRT, VTT, JSON, in 99+ languages. Recordings are transcribed on our own servers and are never used for training.

Try it on a long recording

The summary of any recording is free to read; a pack from $4 opens the full transcript.

The arithmetic

Published no-subscription rates among the 14 consumer services (the rest, Otter.ai, Descript, Trint, Happy Scribe, TurboScribe, Notta, Fireflies.ai, Riverside, VEED, sell only subscriptions or do not publish the rate):

Who should pick something else

Where WhipScribe wins: no subscription, minutes that never expire, files up to 10 hours (only TurboScribe matched that among services that publish a cap), and 99+ languages (Temi, for comparison, is English only).

What this data supports, and what it does not

Statements you can repeat, with the date:

Statements the data does not support:

Method and sources

Scenario. Transcribe N hours of recorded audio/video files (N = 10 and N = 100), one user, all within one month, using the cheapest purchasable option on the company's own price page. Monthly-billed plans are counted at one month's fee. Annual plans are listed separately because they require paying for 12 months up front.

Price per hour = total US dollars paid ÷ hours transcribed. Free tiers and trials are not in the paid ranking; they are named where they would cover the scenario. Enterprise and custom quotes have no public price and are left out. Human transcription is listed, not ranked.

How the pages were read. WebFetch and curl on public pages; headless Chromium (Playwright) for app.trint.com/plans and www.happyscribe.com/pricing, which return prices only after JavaScript runs (happyscribe.com returns HTTP 403 to curl). curl on public pages; headless Chromium (Playwright) for turboscribe.ai (HTTP 403 to curl), notta.ai (monthly prices rendered in JavaScript), veed.io, maestra.ai, riverside.com, fireflies.ai, gotranscript.com; Zendesk help-centre API for help.temi.com.

What would change the verdict. Prices change; this page is regenerated from the sweep files, and the build stops if a sentence above is no longer true of the data. If you see a price here that differs from a company's page, write to contact@whipscribe.com with the link and we will correct it.

Raw data: /proof/price-per-hour.json (every row, the verbatim quote behind each price, the arithmetic, and the claims the data does and does not support).

Questions

What is the cheapest way to transcribe 10 hours of audio?

Among the 14 paid consumer services we checked on 4 October 2026, WhipScribe's $8 pack (1,000 minutes, one-time) was the lowest, at $0.80 per hour; the next was Notta at $13.49 for a month. Free tools exist with limits: TurboScribe's free tier takes files of 30 minutes or less, three a day, and Riverside's page offers free transcription with unpublished file limits.

Is WhipScribe the cheapest transcription service?

Only within a stated scope. On 4 October 2026 its $0.29-per-hour pack rate was lower than every no-subscription price published by the 14 consumer services we checked, and its $19 Workspace month was the lowest paid price for 100 hours. It is not the cheapest on every plan: for 100 hours in one month, TurboScribe ($20), Notta ($27.99) and Otter.ai ($30) cost less than buying WhipScribe packs, and a developer API such as AssemblyAI lists $0.15 per hour.

How much does it cost to transcribe 100 hours with WhipScribe?

$32 in packs ($8 (1,000 min) + $24 (5,000 min)), which is $0.32 per hour and never expires, or $19 for one month of Workspace ($0.19 per hour, fair use up to 700 hours a month).

Do WhipScribe credits expire?

No. Pack minutes stay on the account until they are used. Several subscriptions in the comparison reset unused minutes each month, including Otter.ai, Notta, Fireflies.ai and VEED.

How long can one recording be?

Up to 10 hours or 5 GB per file. Of the services that publish a cap: Fireflies.ai takes 150 minutes, Otter.ai 4 hours on Business, Notta 5 hours, Sonix 8 hours unless enabled for longer, and TurboScribe 10 hours.

Is there a free WhipScribe transcript?

No. Not free: the summary of any recording is free to read, and a pack from $4 (500 minutes) opens the full transcript.

When were these prices checked, and how?

On 4 October 2026, on each company's own pricing page, for one user transcribing recorded files with AI, all hours within one month; monthly plans are counted at one month's fee and yearly plans are left out of the sums. The verbatim quotes are in the raw data at https://whipscribe.com/proof/price-per-hour.json.