Simon Says: transcription for video editors

by Simon Says

Don’t want to sign up for Simon Says? Drop the file here.

The first 20 minutes of any recording are transcribed free: a recording up to 20 minutes transcribes in full, a longer one is previewed, and a pack from $6 (500 minutes) transcribes the rest and opens every export, and credits never expire.

Built for post-production: transcripts and captions that export straight into Premiere Pro, Final Cut Pro, DaVinci Resolve and Avid, plus translation and an on-premise Mac option.

Web, macOS, iOS  ·  pay as you go $15 an hour

Get Simon Says Official site & pricing

TL;DR

Simon Says is for editors: transcripts and captions that drop into Premiere Pro, Final Cut Pro, DaVinci Resolve and Avid. Pay-as-you-go is $15 an hour; plans start at $15 per user a month.

If what you need is an SRT or VTT to import yourself, a per-minute credit pack costs a fraction of that per hour of audio.

Category
Products
Pricing
pay as you go $15 an hour ($0.25 a minute); plans from $15 per user a month billed annually
Platforms
Web, macOS, iOS

What it is

Simon Says is a transcription, translation and captioning service aimed at video professionals. Its pricing page (checked 11 October 2026) lists pay-as-you-go at $15 an hour ($0.25 a minute), Starter at $15 per user a month billed annually ($20 monthly) with 2 hours of credit, Pro at $33 ($40 monthly) with 4 hours, and Pro+ at $125 ($150 monthly) with 30 hours. It exports Word, text, Excel, SRT, WebVTT and CEA-608/708 captions, and project files for Final Cut Pro, Premiere Pro and Audition, Avid Media Composer and Pro Tools, and DaVinci Resolve. It has web, macOS and iPhone apps, editor extensions, and an on-premise, air-gapped option for Macs.

Best for: Editors and post-production teams who need transcripts and captions inside Premiere Pro, Final Cut Pro, DaVinci Resolve or Avid.
Watch out for: Pay-as-you-go web uploads are capped at 5 GB a file (higher on paid plans); hourly rates fall only on monthly plans.

An SRT for your edit at per-minute pricing

  1. Drop the audio or video file into the box at the top of this page, or paste a link (YouTube, a podcast or RSS feed, Google Drive, Twitch or Kick). Nothing to install and no GPU needed.
  2. The language is detected automatically and the transcript stays in the language that was spoken (WhipScribe does not translate).
  3. Download the SRT or VTT and import it into Premiere Pro, Final Cut Pro or DaVinci Resolve as a caption track. WhipScribe has no editor plug-ins and does not export NLE project files.
  4. Read the summary free. A pack from $6 (500 minutes) opens the full transcript and the downloads: TXT, DOCX, SRT, VTT and JSON. Packs are one-time purchases and credits never expire.
  5. Files can be up to 10 hours or 5 GB per file.

Related: SRT generator · YouTube to SRT · Subtitle generator · Premiere Pro · Pricing

Install / use

Go to Simon Says www.simonsaysai.com

Key specs

Pay as you go
$15 / hour
Plans
$15–$125 per user / month (annual)
NLE exports
FCP, Premiere, Resolve, Avid
Captions
SRT, WebVTT, CEA-608/708

What people actually do with Simon Says-style transcription

The tool is the means. These are the jobs — each one priced at published rates, each one wired up on its own page.

Wire it into Google DriveYouTubeAmazon S3n8nZapierMake.com

Features

Speaker diarizationNot stated
Word-level timestampsNot stated
Streaming / real-timeNot stated
Languages supported—
HIPAA eligibleNot stated

Links

Simon Says vs Whipscribe

FeatureSimon SaysWhipscribe
CategoryProductsTranscription APIs
PricingNot verified$6–$24 one-time packs (credits never expire) · first 20 minutes free
Speaker identificationNot verifiedNamed in the summary, key quotes and chapters
Word timestampsNot verifiedYes
StreamingNot verifiedNo
Languages—99
PlatformsWeb, macOS, iOSWeb, API, MCP

Alternatives to Simon Says

Frequently asked about Simon Says

How much does Simon Says cost per hour?

Pay-as-you-go is $15 an hour ($0.25 a minute). Plans include monthly hours and lower overage rates: $7.50 an hour on Starter, $6.50 on Pro and $4 on Pro+. Checked on simonsaysai.com/pricing on 11 October 2026.

Which editors does Simon Says export to?

Final Cut Pro, Adobe Premiere Pro and Audition, Avid Media Composer and Pro Tools, and Blackmagic DaVinci Resolve, plus Word, text, Excel, SRT, WebVTT and CEA-608/708 captions.

Does Simon Says translate?

Yes, it lists translation into 100 languages. WhipScribe does not translate: the transcript stays in the language that was spoken.

Can I get an SRT for Premiere or Resolve without Simon Says?

Yes. Both editors import SRT captions. WhipScribe produces an SRT and a VTT from any audio or video file or link; you import it as a caption track.

What is Simon Says?

Simon Says is for editors: transcripts and captions that drop into Premiere Pro, Final Cut Pro, DaVinci Resolve and Avid. Pay-as-you-go is $15 an hour; plans start at $15 per user a month.

Does Simon Says work on Mac, Windows and Linux?

Simon Says runs on Web, macOS and iOS.

How do I get started with Simon Says?

There is nothing to install — Simon Says is used in the browser. Create an account on the vendor's site and upload or connect your audio.

What are the limitations of Simon Says?

Pay-as-you-go web uploads are capped at 5 GB a file (higher on paid plans); hourly rates fall only on monthly plans.

Who is Simon Says best for?

Editors and post-production teams who need transcripts and captions inside Premiere Pro, Final Cut Pro, DaVinci Resolve or Avid.

What should I know before choosing Simon Says?

If what you need is an SRT or VTT to import yourself, a per-minute credit pack costs a fraction of that per hour of audio.

Is Simon Says open source?

No. Simon Says is a proprietary product. If you need source you can read and run yourself, the open-source tools in this directory are the place to look.

What kind of tool is Simon Says?

In this directory Simon Says is filed under video editors, captions as a product.

Can I automate Simon Says-style transcription without running it myself?

Yes. If what you want is transcripts rather than the tool itself, Whipscribe does the same job as a hosted API: submit a file or URL, poll a job id, pull the result as txt, json, srt, vtt or docx. $0.012 a minute — about $0.72 an audio hour — bought as credits that never expire. The automation recipes on this site show it wired to Drive folders, Zoom recordings, S3 buckets and no-code platforms.

How is Whipscribe different from Simon Says?

Simon Says is another vendor's product; Whipscribe is a per-minute transcription service. Recordings are transcribed on our own servers and never used for training, and every job returns five formats plus an AI summary, quotes and topics. The first 20 minutes of any recording are transcribed free, and a pack from $6 (500 minutes) transcribes the rest and opens every export.

What does transcription cost if I use Whipscribe instead of Simon Says?

$0.012 a minute — about $0.72 an audio hour — bought as credits that never expire. There is no subscription and no monthly minimum: a 3-hour recording is about $2.16, a thousand-hour archive is about $720 once. The first 20 minutes of any recording are transcribed free, and a pack from $6 (500 minutes) transcribes the rest and opens every export, so you can see what your recording holds before paying anything.

Whipscribe is a hosted transcription service. If you want transcripts without running infrastructure, paste a URL or drop a file in the form below — you'll have a transcript in seconds.

Transcribe your recordings

Explore

Long recording to get through?

One file up to 10 hours, as an upload or a link: see how to transcribe an MP3 of any length, transcribing a podcast episode and an SRT subtitle file from any recording.

Comparing tools before you pay?

If you would rather pay a service than run software yourself: see an honest roundup of the best transcription services, affordable transcription priced per hour and transcription services from $6.